Core Functions

The core functions of the Trustee Board are to:

  • Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

  • Hold the Principal to account for the educational performance of the school and its young people, and the performance management of staff
  • Ensure the sound, proper and effective use of the Trust’s financial resources
  • Ensure the voices of stakeholders are heard.

At James Brindley these functions are undertaken by the Trustee Board which is aided by the standing committees (Finance, Audit and Premises, Staffing and Pay, Curriculum and Standards, Safeguarding and Compliance) and the local committees that are set up as mini Boards for the teaching centres (Dovedale, Northfield and Parkway) and the Hospitals (including Short Term Provision).

Trustees also hold individual areas of responsibility and have curriculum link roles.

If you think that you may wish to become a trustee, vacancies are advertised in the "Working for Us" section of the website.

Award ​​

The Governing Board were nominated for the National Governors' Association Outstanding Governance Awards 2019.  On 21st May 2019 the winners were announced at the House of Commons and the Board won the award for governance in a single school.


Governance Structure

The Board consists of the following committees and groups. Each committee has a different remit and reports back to the Trustee Board on a regular basis. In addition to these committees and groups, individual trustees are tasked with specific areas of responsibility such as safeguarding, SEND and careers.  Most trustees have a link curriculum role.

Link Role



Mark Harvey

SEND and inclusion

Joe Wood


Fay Holland

Staff Wellbeing

Rebecca Lloyd


Simon Lee


Ben Sullivan

Board Development

Claire Marshall

Curriculum Area/s


Art and Design Technology

Chris Jeff

Computing and English

Alastair Cowen


Rebecca Lloyd


Mark Harvey


Claire Marshall

Personal Development

Fay Holland and Abid Khan

Physical Education 

Abid Khan


Kaleigh Grainger


Joe Wood


Mark Harvey

If you would like to contact the trustees or require further information, including copies of minutes, please email Jo Murgatroyd (Company Secretary) on

Full Governing Body
Claire Marshall: Chair (Community)
Mark Harvey: Vice Chair (Community) Alastair Cowen: Vice Chair (Community)
James Brown (Community) Fay Holland (Community)
Rebecca Lloyd (Community) Kaleigh Grainger (Community)
Abid Khan (Community) Joe Wood (Community)
David Marriott (Parent) Chris Jeff (Parent)
Simon Lee (Staff) Jayne Hinchliffe (Staff)
Ben Sullivan (Staff) Hardip Bissell (Principal)